For the financial and administrative purposes of the Commission, the province is divided into two parts.* The roughly triangular part of the province lying south of Lake Nipissing and the French and Mattawa Rivers is served by the Southern Ontario System, a fully integrated power network comprising the Niagara, Eastern Ontario and Georgian Bay Divisions. The part lying to the north is served by the Northern Ontario Properties, comprising the Northeastern and Northwestern Divisions. The Southern Ontario System is a co-operative system primarily serving a group of 327 municipalities receiving power at cost under contracts established according to the provisions of the Power Commission Act. The Northern Ontario Properties are not a co-operative system but the power facilities of its Northwestern Division serve a group of eight municipal utilities at cost. Apart from the supply of power to these cost-contract customers, the Northern Ontario Properties are held and operated in trust for the Province of Ontario. Each of the two northern divisions is an integrated power system, the Northeastern Division being also interconnected with the Southern Ontario System. For purposes of administration the whole area served by the Commission is subdivided into nine regions, seven in the south and two in the north, with regional offices located in nine major municipalities. At present the two northern regions coincide with the Northeastern and Northwestern Divisions.

The Commission is concerned primarily with the generation and purchase of power and its delivery in bulk over a province-wide network of transformation and transmission facilities. The sale of bulk power accounts for about 90 p.c. of the Commission's total kilowatt-hour sales. This power is delivered either for resale by other utilities, or for ultimate use in the industrial operations of some 200 customers served directly by the Commission. Deliveries for resale are made to the associated municipal electrical utilities. and to certain interconnected systems (some of them independent municipal systems) operating within or beyond the provincial boundaries. The municipal utilities, in their turn, administered by local commissions and functioning under the general supervision of the Provincial Commission, own and operate their own distribution systems to serve ultimate customers in most cities and towns, in many villages, and in certain township areas. Energy sales representing the remaining 10 p.c. of the Commission's total are carried out through Commission ownership and operation of distribution facilities. These facilities provide retail service on behalf of the various townships to ultimate customers in the rural areas of the province, and similar service to customers in a limited number of municipalities supplied by what are known as "Local Systems".

The growth of the Commission's physical and financial resources reflects the remarkable industrial and social development of the province. In 1914 the Commission purchased its first generating station—Big Chute on the Severn River. Later in the same year the first Commission-built generating station was placed in service at Wasdell Falls, also on the Severn River. This early program of purchase and construction of generating stations reached a climax in the great Queenston-Chippawa development, later renamed Sir Adam Beck-Niagara Generating Station No. 1 in honour of the first Chairman of the Commission. This station first delivered power in 1922 but four years later the Commission found it necessary to negotiate for the extensive purchase of power from large Quebec suppliers in order to satisfy Ontario's steadily growing power demands—demands that have continued to increase over the years. As requirements for power increased throughout the province, the Commission extended the scope of its service both by the purchase and integration of separate systems already in operation, and by the construction of new generating and distributing facilities.

The Commission's power development program as at Dec. 31, 1958 is given in Table 18. Hydro, thermal and nuclear power plant construction recently completed or under way in Ontario is outlined at pp. 609-610.

^{*} Information relating to the establishment of the original administrative systems and to the consolidations leading to the present operating set-up is given in the 1957-58 Year Book, p. 580.